Volkswagen confirms Latvala

Jari-Matti Latvala has confirmed that he will be driving a Volkswagen Polo in the 2013 WRC.

Having spoken of his moral quandary about accepting the tabled offer from VW – thereby abandoning the M-Sport team that has nurtured his career so far, the decision by Ford of Europe to withdraw works support at the end of this season appears to have been decisive for the 27 year-old Finn.

“I’m very happy to be driving the Polo R WRC in the World Rally Championship in future. The determined approach of the Volkswagen team convinced me to accept this challenge,” he said.

“The time at Ford was very valuable for me and I would like to thank everyone who supported me there in the past years – it wasn’t easy for me to say goodbye. At the same time, I see the change as a personal new beginning. I’ve taken this decision in order to make another step towards reaching my big aim: the world champion’s title with Volkswagen.”

WRF can only wish Jari-Matti the very best with this news. From here it looks like he’s potentially walking into a bear pit, with Sébastien Ogier unlikely to respond too positively to having one of the sport’s fastest drivers alongside him and the probability of Dani Sordo coming on board in the near future.

Leave a Reply

